Mind, my enemy | Ruminate

via Daily Prompt: Ruminate

Perplexed and distraught

Halving my speed

I stand all alone

In a foreign land

 

Crying for help

To the unfamiliar surroundings

I wait and watch

Into the darkness

 

Trying to put to rest

My galloping thoughts

I dictate the terms

To the stubborn mind

 

With increase in my efforts

And greater retaliation

The war had begun

Me versus my mind

 

Tapping the old ways

Unearthing buried memories

Grilled my heart

It squeezed my soul

 

Hapless with my stance

I follow the thoughts

Baked and burnt

Flat on the earth

 

Mind, my enemy

You’ve cast the wave

Now I have become

A faithful slave

quote-it-is-a-man-s-own-mind-not-his-enemy-or-foe-that-lures-him-to-evil-ways-buddha-26649

 

 

Leave a Reply

