Replacement | I walked away with you in my mind.

via Daily Prompt: Replacement

With a mission to be accomplished

I took every step with determination

Confident that I would prove you wrong

To start the search for another like you

 

Reached a town by our side

Name was the same

But the frame distorted

I walked away with you in my mind

 

Her eyes were bright just like yours

Like a shining sapphire on a timeless night

Could you be mine I asked, she denied

I walked away with you in my mind

 

The tone of her skin was brighter than yours

The sun rays bounced off her neck

I put my mouth against her lips

I walked away with you in my mind

 

Came running this pretty one to me

Put her hand onto my chest

Our heart beats came to a synchrony

I walked away with you in my mind

miss-you-quotes-29

A princess with indescribable beauty

Offered half her kingdom along

What is your cast? The king asked

I walked away with you in my mind

 

Beauty is only skin deep I said to the waitress

She jumped and kissed my forehead

What do you do for a living? – her brother

I walked away with you in my mind

 

Once a middle class, always a middle class

I walked with her hand in hand

How much money do you have? She asked

I walked away with you in my mind

 

Ran through the earth

Swam across the oceans

Reached for the sky

And mingled with the stars

 

Now I accept the wholesome defeat

With conviction in my words and realization attained

There can never be a replacement I say

I walk towards you my love, my light

missing_you

 

7 thoughts on “Replacement | I walked away with you in my mind.

  1. Hi Vijay. I love this piece. Very poignant and sincere. There’s a lot of emotion behind this and it reflects throughout your piece. Great job! Do keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

